00101010

My blog on life the universe and everything…

Bandwidth control in Gnu/Linux with trickle

I just found a nice little tool that allows you to set the maximum download/upload rates that an application should use. This is particularly useful to me as I have problems when downloading files with DonwThemAll in Firefox which does not provide any means of controlling the bandwidth consumption. As a result I often find my connection being completely taken over by the download an thus I am unable to do other things on the Internet at the same time.

The application I am talking about is called trickle and can be easily downloaded on debian-based machines with apt-get install trickle.

To start Firefox with a limit to the amount of bandwidth it consumes all you have to do is type in the command line

trickle -d 200 firefox

this would start Firefox with a download limit of 200KB/s. See trickle manual for more options. It must be noted that this value cannot be changed in real time.

2 responses to “Bandwidth control in Gnu/Linux with trickle

  1. tillz October 7, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    ohh wonderful, it exactly solves my problem (im using downthemall and my brother says me every 20 minutes that i have to limit the download).

    tillz

  2. Szemy November 16, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Wow!!!
    have been searching for something like this:)
    Thanks

